Caramel and Pecan Ice Cream

For Christmas, I was so excited to receive the KitchenAid Ice Cream attachment as seen here. I had played around with a few non-churn recipes last year and was pleased with the results. I love ice cream and feel it’s an appropriate dessert to be enjoyed all year round (in fact we like it so much we want our entire wedding cake made of the stuff – pure ice cream bliss!) Anyway, with the new kitchen now almost complete and the added larger freezer space, it was time to try this bad boy out, and I have to say, I was impressed!

img_1172

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect when I took everything out of the box. It comes with a freezer bowl which needs to be frozen at least 15 hours before making ice cream, but I would recommend popping it in the freezer the night before, as long as you have the room! Having not made ice cream before, I decided to follow one of the recipes from the manual which includes a handful of different flavours. Being an American brand, I found I needed to Google a few ingredients to work out what the English substitution was, but this was easily found and added straight to the weekly shop.

The below recipe is courtesy of the enclosed manual, with ingredients tweaked with English substitutions:

Ingredients:

  • 850ml whole milk
  • 1 can unsweetened condensed milk
  • 1 can of carnations caramel
  • 1 packet of butterscotch flavoured angel delight
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • a pinch of salt
  • 100g packet of chopped pecans

Method:

  1. In a medium bowl, place all the ingredients except the pecans and whisk until well blended.
  2. Once all ingredients are combined, cover with clingfilm and chill thoroughly for at least 6 hours.
  3. Assemble and engage the freezer bowl, dash and drive as per the instructions (remember the freezer bowls needs to be pre-frozen for at least 15 hours prior to making the ice-cream) Turn to Speed 1 and slowly put the mixture into the freezer bowl.
  4. Continue on Speed 1 for 20 minutes until the ice cream has thickened. In the last minute, add the chopped pecans and continue to churn.
  5. Immediately transfer the ice cream into an airtight container and leave in the freezer over night to harden (the ice cream will be thick but still runny).

img_1173

Making ice cream like this can take time, but is totally worth it! Don’t be put off by the waiting game. I found that you don’t have to wait the full 6 hours as our fridge is quite cold to begin with, and I think overall it had between 3 and 4 hours chill time. The ice cream formed beautifully, so much so that it grew up the bowl and into the mixer paddle as it thickened. From this, it can also be a bit messy and you need to work quickly, but once all ingredients are circling the bowl, you can leave it happily for 20 minutes to churn.

This ice cream once frozen overnight was still incredibly smooth and creamy. I have to say it’s probably one of the nicest ice creams I have had in a long time. The flavour of the caramel is strong throughout, and the added pecans give a new dimension to flavour and texture. I’m excited to try other ice creams over the summer, I’m thinking may be mint chocolate chip next!

img_1174

If you are thinking of making your own ice-cream and have a KitchenAid Mixer, I would definitely recommend this attachment *

Have you ever tired to make home made ice cream?

What have been your experiences and what are your favourite flavours?

wpid-All_Fonts__2_of_1_747_Fonts_.jpg

*  Please note, this is not a sponsored or review post on the KitchenAid Ice Cream attachment, this is just a keen blogger ranting about the great Christmas present she received and the experiences that came from it. 

14 thoughts on “Caramel and Pecan Ice Cream

  1. Linda

    I’ve been thinking of buying a KitchenAid – I think this post just helped me make my decision – just so I can make this delicious ice cream!! :)
    Pinned it :) :)

  2. quirkyandwonderful

    I love homemade ice cream! Unfortunately, I don’t have an ice cream maker. But I use a recipe with sweetened condensed milk and heavy whipping cream that can freeze without one. I make a coffee version that I’m rather attached to. :) This caramel-pecan version sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

