Salted Caramel Sauce & Chocolate Cupcakes

I love salted caramel, and so does my fiancé. Which is why when I thought of what I would get him for Valentines Day, I instantly thought of a large jar of homemade salted caramel sauce. As soon as I saw this easy recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction I just knew I had to try it. Sally’s bakes always have me salivating, and she always makes each recipe easy to follow and understand. I felt I was in good hands!

img_0347

With a birthday looming, it was baking time for me to supply the office with a celebratory treat. It just so happened it was the same night I made this scrummy sauce, so obviously I needed to try it out for myself with these incredibly chocolatey cupcakes!

img_0348

Ingredients:

  • 4tbsp boiling water
  • 40g cocoa powder
  • 3 eggs
  • 175g unsalted butter, softened and cubed
  • 165g caster sugar
  • 115g self raising flour
  • 1tsp baking powder

For the Chocolate Icing:

  • 60g unsalted butter, melted
  • 30g cocoa powder
  • 3tbsp milk
  • 250g icing sugar

Method:

  1. Line a muffin tin with paper cases. Sift the cocoa powder into a bowl, and pour in the boiling water and mix until it forms a thick paste. Add the remaining cake ingredients as above, and mix with an electric hand whisk (or beat with a wooden spoon).
  2. Divide the mixture evenly between the 12 paper cases and bake in a pre heated oven for 15-20 minutes at 180C. Make sure they are well risen and to test to make sure they are thoroughly cooked through, insert a skewer and make sure it comes out clean.
  3. To make the icing, melt the butter and pour into a large bowl. Sift in the cocoa powder, and slowly add the icing sugar until combined. if the icing is too thick, slowly add the milk until it because smooth and a spreadable consistency.
  4. Pipe the chocolate icing onto each of the cupcakes (you can find my tutorial video here) and decorate with a drizzle of the salted caramel sauce, finishing with a fine layer of grated chocolate.

img_0350

I’m not usually a great lover of chocolate cake, as I find the sponge can go quite dry. Not these though, they stayed moist for days, and were even appreciated with a strong cup of tea for 11am treats this sunny Monday morning (that’s 4 whole days of chocolatey goodness! – and I say sunny, it was still -1.7C when I left the house this morning!).

The chocolate icing is rich and creamy, and the added drizzle of salted caramel sauce gave them that little something extra. I will definitely be making these again, a slice of chocolate cake always has a place, and this recipe now has a place in my own little cook book!

img_0349

Did you all have a lovely Valentines Day?

What do you think of these chocolatey cupcakes? Do you like a chocolate sponge?

Do you have any favourite chocolate cake recipes you wish to share?

wpid-All_Fonts__2_of_1_747_Fonts_.jpg

20 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Sauce & Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. lynne hoareau

    Hannah, you have made my day :-) I too, find most chocolate cupcake recipes tend to be a bit dry, and haven’t as yet found a really good moist one. I will be trying yours out definitely. Yay! I am so excited. Hmmm what a nice touch with the salted caramel…yummmm

    • lovethelittlebakery

      I’m glad I’m not the only one! I was really pleased with the recipe, it’s full of flavour! You’ll have to let me know what you think of them if you make them. It would be interesting to know your thoughts :) Hx

  2. To Arizona......and beyond

    I’m not a great fan of chocolate cake either as I usually find it too dry. Great to find a recipe that stays moist. I also love the idea that you have a jar of salted caramel sauce, bet it would be delicious with ice cream as the weather warms up!

Leave a Reply

