Lemon and Raspberry Baked Cheesecake

Hello lovelies. Did we all enjoy eating Pancakes on Tuesday? Pancakes (along with waffles or any breakfast foods come to think of it) are something I could probably eat daily. I have to admit though I have always been a bit of a cheat when it comes to making them, preferring the hassle free shop bought package mix. (It all goes back to a very disastrous attempt to make cinnamon pancakes 4 years ago as a surprise breakfast for my now fiancé – they literally were inedible and since that day I simply gave up!) Until this Pancake Day, where I braved the kitchen in my onesie and followed Lakeland’s Basic Pancake Batter and voila, success!

Anyway, Pancake Day has been and gone, and I come to you today with this very scrummy Lemon and Raspberry Baked Cheesecake. I love a good cheesecake – I love the creaminess of the filling against the crunch of the biscuity base, the strong flavours (especially the citrusy ones). I also love that you can practically throw anything into the mix and it tastes pretty damn good! (Did you catch my Malteaser and White Chocolate Mini Puds?) During the summer, these are my favourite desserts to make, as not only are they super tasty, they are also quick to conjure up!

Way back before Christmas (can you see how far behind with everything I am!), we had a visitor for dinner, and I tried my hand at this Lemon and Raspberry Baked Cheesecake. This is something entirely new for me, I have never made a baked cheesecake – ever! But I have to say, now I have, I am a complete convert.

I love them!

This is definitely why I have a dessert blog ..

photoeditor-1448812805241.jpg

This Lemon and Raspberry Cheesecake sits on my favourite biscuity base. It’s buttery, soft, and crunchy at the same time. Plus, it’s extra thick and the perfect compliment to the zesty cheesecake filling.

Ingredients:

  • 200g digestive biscuit
  • 75g melted butter
  • 600g full-fat soft cheese
  • 250g golden caster sugar
  • 150g tub natural yogurt
  • 3 medium egg
  • finely grated zest 2 lemons
  • juice of 1
  • 50g plain flour
  • 200g raspberry
  • icing sugar, to decorate

Method:

  1. Heat oven to 120C and line the base of a 20cm round springform tin with greaseproof paper.
  2. Crush the biscuits in a food processor or in a food bag using a rolling pin (the most therapeutic way!) Tip into a bowl with the melted butter and mix well.
  3. Push the biscuits into an even layer into the base of the cake tin and chill until needed.
  4. In a separate bowl use an electric whisk to beat the soft cheese with the sugar.
  5. Next beat in the yoghurt, then the eggs one at a time.
  6. Finally beat in the lemon zest, lemon juice and flour.
  7. Fold through two thirds of the raspberries crushing them very slightly so they start to bleed into the mix, then tip the mix on top of the biscuit base and smooth over the top.
  8. Bake for 45 mins then turn off the oven, leave the cake inside for another hour then cool at room temperature.
  9. Chill overnight.

To serve, remove from tin, scatter with remaining raspberries and dust heavily with icing sugar.

photoeditor-1448812903874.jpg

photoeditor-1448812958414.jpg

There is a lot of talk around Baked Cheesecakes with a lot of things that can go wrong, such as soggy middles, runny middles and soggy biscuit base. With the disasters I’ve had recently, this obviously had me on edge – why on earth would I want to try and make one of these now? But being already in the oven, it was too late to turn back, and I just had to sit and hope it would turn out alright when I cut into it!

Luckily for me, I’d say it turned out okay …

Have you ever tried to make a Baked Cheesecake? What advice can you give?

Do you have a favourite recipe?

wpid-All_Fonts__2_of_1_747_Fonts_.jpg

12 thoughts on “Lemon and Raspberry Baked Cheesecake

  1. lynne hoareau

    Hi Hannah, your baked cheese cake looks divine. I honestly have never attempted a baked cheese cake. My mom was the cheese cake boffin, baked or unbaked. I think I am too scared just in case I fail. But, I promise, I will try…..one day. I am going to pin this. :-)

  2. Michelle

    I’ve always heard that its most important that all your ingredients be at room temperature so that you get the smoothest cake possible. I’ve only made cheesecake once and while it was fabulous, boy was it a lot of work! Yours looks gorgeous! I love the idea of raspberries and lemon inside cakes (to hopefully usher spring in a little faster)!

    • lovethelittlebakery

      I’ve heard that too Michelle! They definitely take a bit of work, but boy do they taste good when they are done :) the lemon and raspberry actually work really well together, it’s a nice flavour and the cheesecake is very smooth in its consistency! Hx

Leave a Reply

