2016

Hello lovelies. Happy New Year – I guess said better late than never!

I just wanted to let you all know that yes, I am still alive! I am very conscious it has been months since I last posted anything, and I apologise!

To summarise, it’s been a crazy few months, what with work and home life. The end of the year was a very busy and testing time for me with work, and I was glad to see the end of the year and to take a well needed break from everything, which unfortunately included my kitchen! I also had some horrible experiences with misreading measurements and oven settings meaning the things I did bake were disastrous, as clearly shown below …

Home life has been just as manic with so many home improvements I’m not too sure where to start! We purchased our beautiful 3 bed house in October and already we have powered through with 2 new bedrooms, a study and an open plan living room / diner. Did I mention we have done all this ourselves with no help from any professionals? It’s been hard graft, but the work we have put in has made it a place I love more than anything else. It’s our home and somewhere we intend to spend a large chunk of our lives, so making it perfect just seems like the right thing to do. (Even all the late nights, evenings and early weekend starts!)

    And through all of this, I was half tempted to start another blog along side LOVE the little bakery called “Painting and Cake Decorating”, until I realised I’m doing more of the painting then I am the baking!

I’m sure everything will calm down soon (fingers crossed anyway!). Although I am so excited to finally be ripping out our old kitchen in March to replace it with a super modern and sleek replacement. I love a good project and a real transformation. We both spend so much time in ours, and I can’t wait to use it again to come up with some new bakes for the year!

So 2016, what’s in store? At the moment, I’m not sure, but excited to see what the future holds. With regards to the bakes in my life, I’m excited to share some of last years drafted (but not posted) recipes, which include something I have always wanted to try – a Gravity Cake! Oh it was so much fun, have you ever made one?


I’m not promising a post anytime soon, but just wanted to grace you with my presence, to let you know I’m okay and will be back to baking as soon as I have a working kitchen again!

Goodbye for now lovelies

wpid-All_Fonts__2_of_1_747_Fonts_.jpg

19 thoughts on “2016

  1. Claire | Art and Soul

    Glad to hear you’re ok! The work you’ve done on your house is amazing – no wonder you’ve been quiet on here :-)
    Good luck with the rest of your work and looking forward to seeing more of that gravity cake which looks amazing!

    • lovethelittlebakery

      Thank you! No, we had to end up re-plastering it but now the wall looks as good as new and has a lovely new layer of wallpaper of the top :) They are so much fun to make, you should definitely add it to your “to do” baking list. Hx

  2. Lili

    Happy new year!! Excited to see your gravity cake recipe… have wondered about making one for a while too! Must be fun and your cake looks great! :)

  3. lynne hoareau

    Hey Hannah, I missed you ! and I was worried. I am glad you are alright, well and happy. Your house is coming along so nicely, you must be so proud. Shew, that is hard work doing all yourselves hey! You will now have to keep us updated with pics, now that you have allowed us a sneaky peak of your home Hahaha. Anyway, just glad you’re fine and look forward to hearing from you. Keep well, my friend x

  4. linsolo93

    Hi
    I love the idea of combining baking & DIY! I am not too good at the DIY , much more comfortable with the baking. Thanks for liking the Cranachan post on taste2taste.com. I look forward to seeing the gravity cake- always wanted to make one too! Happy baking in 2016 x

  5. The Cake Island

    Hey Hannah, I totally understand! I have messed up quite a bit of my baking as well! It is possibly the worst feeling in the world. Okay, not the worst feeling but it sucks. Congrats on the new home!! I love interior design as well. It is a lot of work, and money, but when you done, it all so worth it! :)

    • lovethelittlebakery

      It really is such a crappy feeling, baking seems to take forever sometimes and when it goes wrong it just leaves you feeling really deflated! Yes I do hope so, I’m excited to see what it all looks like when we are finally finished.
      Thank you for stopping by my blog, it pointed me to yours which I love and can’t wait to read more of your posts :) Hx

Leave a Reply

