Meringue Kisses

Did you catch last months post with this scrummy Millionaire Chocolate Tart? It’s such a nice alternative to the traditional Millionaire Shortbread slice, where the sweetness of the chocolate and caramel works really nicely against the pastry casing. The recipe is easy, but requires egg yolks and not the whites. So what to do when you have leftover egg whites – you make meringues of course!

photoeditor-1448746768780.jpg

These Meringue Kisses are really fun to whip up. They are super cute. Colourful. And damn right adorable. The best part .. You only need two ingredients to make them! Unless you want to colour them and then it’s only three. Oh I love a simple bake! This recipe came courtesy of BBC Good Food, with a few tweaks to measurements and a little simple maths, it was enough to make a perfect batch!

The beautiful striped effect is achieved by painting stripes of gel food colouring down the inside of a piping bag before you fill it with the meringue mixture. I used this summery yellow colouring, but you can go for any colour you like. The lemon flavour comes from the addition of grated lemon zest, which is folded into the meringue mixture once it has been whipped to stiff peaks and comes through as a subtle hint.

photoeditor-1448812709671.jpg

I do love a meringue, and could be absolutely perfect for Christmas. Why not colour them with red and green food dye? Perhaps crushed with some raspberries and cream? A little different to the original pavlova? Oh the possibilities!

Have you started your Christmas bakes?

Are you a fan of meringues? Don’t you just love these colourful peaks of yumminess?

wpid-All_Fonts__2_of_1_747_Fonts_.jpg

 

 

13 thoughts on “Meringue Kisses

  1. lynne hoareau

    Hannah, great minds think alike. I love meringues, and funny have just been preparing my post on meringues. Mine are a little different to yours, but would love to try your version too.
    I somehow feel very unorganized this year for Christmas. I haven’t started any Christmas bakes yet (probably in fear I will eat them all before the day!) But next week, I will be living in the kitchen, and baking and cooking my little heart out. :-) Have a lovely weekend.x

    • lovethelittlebakery

      Oh that’s awesome! Can’t wait to read yours too! I feel exactly the same, I’m not sure what’s wrong with me this year haha! I hope you have a fabulous Christmassy week in your kitchen and wishing you a very Happy Christmas! Looking forward to reading all your baking posts :) Hx

  2. Michelle

    I recently learned that I loved meringues after visiting a local bakery that had what they referred to as meringue clouds – basically extra large versions of what you made – and they were wonderfully crispy on the outside and a bit chewy on the inside. I may have to try making my own after seeing yours even though I generally use my egg whites to make angel food cakes and top them with berries!

    • lovethelittlebakery

      Oh my goodness they sound fabulous! These are so easy to make and you can probably make them as big as you like! After hearing this, I may even give them a go myself. You can never have enough meringue! :) Hx

Leave a Reply

