Mini Leek, Cheese & Potato Pasties

The blog has been a little on the quiet side over the past month, with work and evening projects around the house, baking has had to take a bit of a back seat. But today I post something a little different for me. Usually, I’m a baker with a love for sweet thing, but today I share with you something a little more savoury. And I LOVE them!

As you know, I have been practicing my pastry skills, and something I have been wanting to try for ages in homemade pasties. I love a good pasty. They remind me of holidays to Cornwall as a child and being by the sea. The best part about those holidays was definitely a good Cornish Pasty and a big cone of ice-cream (and of course spending time with my beautiful family). I was always a little hesitate to try making some for myself, but with a little tweaking, this recipe will become a firm favourite in my cook book.

imageIngredients:

  • 1 small potatoes, cut into 1/2 – 1cm cubes
  • knob of butter
  • 1 small leeks, tough outer leaves removed, split in half lengthways and finely sliced
  • 1/2 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • flour, for dusting
  • 500g block shortcrust pastry
  • 140g/ 5oz Welsh Caerphilly cheese, strong cheddar or vegetarian alternative, cut into small chunks
  • 1 egg, beaten

Method:

  1. Cook the potatoes in boiling, salted water for 5-8 mins until tender, but still holding their shape.
  2. Melt the butter in a large saucepan, add the leeks and soften for 10-12 mins.
  3. Drain the potatoes and add to the leeks, along with the mustard and plenty of seasoning.
  4. Heat oven to 180C.
  5. On a floured surface, roll out the pastry to the thickness of a Β£1 coin.
  6. Use a side plate or a bowl as a template to cut out 6 x 15cm circles.
  7. Mix the cheese with the leek mixture and pile a mound of the mix onto the centre of each pastry circle.
  8. Brush around edges with a little egg, then bring edges together and crimp with your fingers to seal.
  9. Place your pasties on a baking tray lined with greaseproof paper, brush with the remaining egg and bake for 40-45 mins until golden brown.

These pasties are great served warm or cool, and although the photos may not look as though they were a complete success, (what with the openness of my pasties), they taste delicious!

wpid-photoeditor-1446217581022.jpg

I’m slowly getting there with my pastry making skills, and will be proud to end the year knowing I have tested my abilities to come up with a few scrummy bakes of my own. These mini pasties are perfect as an alternative to sandwiches at lunchtime, and even though they are small, don’t be fooled – you’ll feel as full as if you ate a large one! I definitely over filled my little pastry casings, which is one of the reasons I think they split open in the oven (but can you ever really have too much filling?)

I love the cheese which oozes ever so slightly with the heat, and the taste of the leeks works well against theΒ lightly salted potatoes. They went down really well, although Luke would much prefer I add some meat next time! I will definitely be making these again, perhaps a little larger, with the added taste of bacon. Mmmm ..

Are you a fan of pasties?

What are your favourite filling? Do you have any tips on how to keep the pasties from splitting open in the oven?

wpid-All_Fonts__2_of_1_747_Fonts_.jpg

6 thoughts on “Mini Leek, Cheese & Potato Pasties

  1. Javy Dreamer

    About splitting down in Puerto Rico where I’m from, we use to press the borders of the pastries with a fork to seal them. It greatly reduces the amount of splitting.

Leave a Reply

