The Best of November

It’s been a quiet month for me on the blog. With a new house, renovations have taken priority, and I am excited to say we have a newly decorated living room/diner and bedroom. Being an old house, nothing is as simple as it seems, and the work always seems to take twice as long, which to me, is extremely infuriating. Luckily Luke and I are still going strong, (even though there have been many times I have wanted to smack him with a paint brush!)

Anyway, all this painting, plumbing and door hanging has taken up the majority of my time, and unfortunately baking (and the blogging) have taken a back seat, as you can probably tell with the three posts this month .. three! :(

So here’s to a nice short roundup of Novembers recipes, starting with these scrummy Raspberry and White Chocolate Waffles.

wpid-photoeditor-1441014857031.jpg

It was interesting to find out from my lovely readers if you were waffle lovers, or pancake ones, and I think the responses were a nice even mix. If you love waffles, then this post is definitely for you, and if you love pancakes, hell, why not give it a go as well, you never know, it may just convert you to the other side …

My next post was inspired by Bonfire Night, and these Cheesy Bonfire Rolls were just perfect for the occasion. Simply mix all the ingredients together and pop in the oven, it really is that simple. No rising time, no excessive kneading, just handfuls of pumpkin seeds and sprinkles of cheese, and these little rolls are ready for the taking. They really are delicious with some homemade soup, and the colour of the red peppers seems appropriate for the evening. If you haven’t already done so, I would definitely make a note to try these next year .. or any time of the year for that matter, they are that scrummy!

wpid-photoeditor-1446770059270.jpg

To finish the month, I had a very exciting opportunity to blog for British Lions Eggs. I was asked to come up with my favourite egg recipe, and as hard as it was, I settled for this Millionaire’s Chocolate Tart.

wpid-photoeditor-1447701835253.jpg

Eggs really do have some amazing health benefits, so feel free to use this an excuse to bake (I know I do!). This tart is a twist on the classic Millionaire Shortbread, and I have to say, it may have just become my favourite out of the two. The nice thing about this tart is that it’s not too sickly. The pastry offsets the sweetness of the caramel, and the mixture of the plain and white chocolate makes a nice combination – the bitterness of the plain chocolate is evened out with the sweetness of the white. The icing sugar shower makes a pretty finishing touch, and the best part is slicing into the first piece and the caramel slightly oozing out the sides.

Now we are in December, and the countdown towards the Christmas holidays is on! This is one of my favourite times of year for baking; the gingerbread men and their houses, the cookies, the cakes .. I go crazy at Christmas! And now the majority of the things in our home are to how we want them for the year, it’s time to focus on the baking again, and I can’t wait to share with you my favourite Christmas bakes!

What have been your highlights for November?

Are you excited for Christmas? What will you be baking?

wpid-All_Fonts__2_of_1_747_Fonts_.jpg

7 thoughts on “The Best of November

  1. lynne hoareau

    Hi Hannah, lovely to read your post, and love the recipe round up. I definitely will be making all (no big surprise there, haha) All pinned.
    Moving house and renovations are always time consuming, but soon your place will be just as you want it. :-) .
    Christmas is around the corner, I still must plan what I will be doing different this year. I always try do one different dessert along with the usual ones, and same goes with the veggies.
    Have a good week.

    • lovethelittlebakery

      Ah thank you lovely! You’ll have to let me know how you get on if you do decide to give any of the recipes a go!
      I know and I can’t wait, it’s just difficult when you want it all done at once. It’s such a long process.
      Ooh how exciting. What is on the cards this Christmas?
      And you! Hx

Leave a Reply

