Sunday Best: Rhubarb Crumble

Sunday’s are our usual food shopping day and I love a good wander around the stores, hoping to find a few bargains along the way. This week, I certainly was’t disappointed with Waitrose, and managed to bag myself a pack of rhubarb for 99p. I love rhubarb, and I knew instantly it would be used the same day, and I also knew exactly what I would make with it ..

A crumble.

With autumn already here and turning those leaves a lovely burnt orange, it’s definitely time for the comfort food, and I don’t think there is anything better then a hearty crumble smothered in a thick layer of custard? Surely I’m not the only one to love that pud, right?

So, for all you English folk feeling a little sad summer has well and truly passed, grab your aprons (and some rhubarb while you still can), and get that oven on! A Rhubarb Crumble is calling you too …

wpid-photoeditor-1444579521515.jpg

Ingredients:

For the Crumble Mixture:

  • 125g cold unsalted butter, cut into small chunks
  • 200g plain flour
  • 100g caster sugar

For the Filing:

  • A small pack of rhubarb, mine was a pack of 6 stems
  • 2 tbsp caster sugar
  • 1/2 lemon, juice only

Method:

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 180c.
  2. Place all the ingredients for your crumble in a large bowl and rub the cubed butter into the flour and sugar mix until it resembles fine breadcrumbs.
  3. Chop the rhubarb into small chunks, (between 1/2 inch and an inch) and sprinkle a light layer of the caster sugar. Pour over the lemon juice, and finely chop thin slices of a knob of butter and place this in the bowl with the rhubarb.
  4. Cover the rhubarb with the crumble mixture, and sprinkle a little extra caster sugar over the top.
  5. Place in the oven and cook until golden brown, and the rhubarb juices are starting to ooze through.Depending on your oven, it may need between 30 and 40 minutes.
  6. Serve with either custard or a thick cream.

wpid-20151011_141325.jpg

This dish will have you in rhubarb heaven in just six short steps, and in just under an hour. What more could you ask for! I know from experience when the summer ends and winter arrives, all you want to do is quick and easy dishes, so make sure to add this one to your cook book!

I usually boil the rhubarb to start with, but being short on time, I found the lemon and the butter helped to make the rhubarb moist, and was surprised to find no hard lumps. The lemon also gives a really nice subtle citrus burst, and the flavours work really well together.

wpid-photoeditor-1444579666005.jpg

The best thing is that these rhubarb stalks were a steal, being discounted in my local Waitrose to 99p. This bake was a total spur of the moment thing, and I couldn’t believe I made this crumble for under Β£1.50, which happily served 6. Home baking can be a great thing, and not as expensive as people think. I love being able to use fresh ingredients to come up with something truly delicious, and can’t wait to share with you more bakes I have tucked up my sleeve ..

What is your favourite type of crumble?

Are you a bargain hunter like I am? What were your Sunday Best’s?

wpid-All_Fonts__2_of_1_747_Fonts_.jpg

3 thoughts on “Sunday Best: Rhubarb Crumble

Leave a Reply

