The Best of August

september_072I can’t believe we say goodbye to yet another month, and this time summer is well and truly coming to an end. With September here, I will soon be trading summer frocks for winter hats and my bakes will take a similar turn, from citrusy berries, to warm stodgy goodness that will warm your tums throughout the cold winter months.

September may seem like a weird one as I have so many blog posts to catch up on from my bakes over the past month. I had some exciting projects throughout August, which included making 120 cupcakes for a wedding, my biggest bake to date, as well as a giant cookie for my better halves birthday and also a first attempt at chocolate cake with a creamy ganache topping. There are also some great bakes to come this month, and with the Great British Bake Off filling our screens on a Wednesday night, it seems that the whole nation has been inspired to bake as well – and I love it!

So, August – what a month you were. August came with it’s baking challenges, including these Eggless Cupcakes. I just wanted to say thank you to my lovely readers for all your help and input with recipes that worked so well for you. This was a real help to me, and I know if I ever get a chance to do them again, between your comments and original online recipes, I should hope to one day come up with the winning combination!wpid-PhotoEditor-1438450855555.jpg

I was so surprised at how moist these were and how light and fluffy they were in texture. If you’ve read the post you’ll know there were a few small fails along the way, but hey, isn’t that the fun of baking! But my favourite bake of the month had to be this amazingly gooey Chocolate and Raspberry Brownie.

wpid-PhotoEditor-1438452363619.jpg

I could have eaten this by the tray load instead of by the slice! For me, it was a perfect consistency, a light crisp top and a gooey middle that almost made you feel it was slightly undercooked – almost! With the sweetness of the chocolate against the sharpness of the raspberries, this has become a favourite of mine when it comes to the brownie wars. Don’t get me wrong, plain and simple is always a winner, but the added white chocolate chunks and gooey raspberries gives it a real edge and I love it!

I was also honoured to have received a number of blogger awards from my fellow readers which I am so, so grateful for. I promise your comments have been greatly received and will post my response in the up and coming months. For now though, thank you to Claire from Art and Soul for my nomination for the Starlight Blogger Award. I love these type of awards, as not only is it a tremendous feeling when your blog gets a nomination, but it also helps to share other amazing blogs with your readers.

August also brought the return of these scrummy Millionaire Shortbreads but this time the caramel was made from scratch, and I couldn’t have been more pleased with the way they turned out. The sweetness of the caramel worked so nicely with the bitterness of the plain chocolate which was something a little different for me. Usually I am a massive fan of everything milk chocolate, but this time I loved experimenting with the plain, and would definitely use this as my preferred chocolate for a recipe like this.

wpid-1439281569046.jpg

With August being our official last month of summer, and inspiration from Jane’s Patisserie, I was excited to try this amazingly scrummy Mint Choc Chip Ice-Cream. Jane makes her bakes so easy to understand that I felt quite confident giving it a go for myself. And I have to say, I was impressed with the results! This really is a beautifully easy recipe to try at home without the need of an ice cream maker. The ice cream is soft and creamy in texture, and the flavour of the peppermint comes through strong against the chocolate chunks. I’m in love and can’t wait to try other variations ..

wpid-photoeditor-1439381034637.jpg

Did you catch my latest post on the exciting opportunity I have with Genie for Our Growing Edge? Our Growing Edge is a monthly bloggers event which was created by Genie herself to try and encourage and inspire bloggers from around the world to share their food experiments and kitchen triumphs. I am truly honored to have been chosen as September’s host and can’t wait to see your submissions! Eek!

The Rules / Submission Guidelines

  1. Your post must contain the phrase Our Growing Edge and have the Our Growing Edge logo. Save the logo image and post it on your post.
    Example: This post is part of the monthly link up party Our Growing Edge. This event aims to connect food bloggers and inspire us to try new things. This month is hosted by <host name> at <blog name>.
  2. Your entry must link to the host and to this page. If you are submitting an already published post, remember to update it with the phrase, logo and links.
  3. You can enter with any new food experience as long as it is new to you.
  4. You may submit up to two entries per month.

our-growing-edge-banner

So why not take this opportunity to try something this weekend ready to submit for September’s edition. I hope to see some of your amazing cakes and bakes in the September edition, and look forward to posting them all at the beginning of October.

wpid-All_Fonts__2_of_1_747_Fonts_.jpg

One thought on “The Best of August

Leave a Reply

