Millionaire Shortbread

Millionnaire Shortbread has to be one of my absolute all time favourites, I mean what is better than shortbread, gooey caramel/toffee and chocolate? Simply nothing in my book! You may remember an old post of mine where I made these the “cheats” way with a can of Carnation Caramel. They were super scrummy, but nothing beats homemade caramel, so this recipe has been tweaked slightly to show you how to make your own.

wpid-1439280725992.jpg

Ingredients:

For the Shortbread:

  • 250g plain flour
  • 75g caster sugar
  • 175g butter, softened

For the Caramel:

  • 100g butter
  • 100g light muscavado sugar (I used dark as that’s all I had in the cupboard)
  • 2 x 397g cans condensed milk

For the Topping:

  • 200g dark chocolate, but feel free to use milk or plain if you prefer

Method:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180C and line a baking tin with greaseproof paper.
  2. To make the shortbread, mix the flour and caster sugar in a bowl. Rub in the butter until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs.
  3. Knead the mixture together until it forms a dough, then press into the base of the prepared tin.
  4. Prick the shortbread lightly with a fork and bake in the pre-heated oven for about 20 minutes or until firm to the touch and very lightly browned and then allow to cool in the tin.
  5. To make the caramel, measure the butter, sugar and condensed milk into a pan and heat gently until the sugar has dissolved.
  6. Bring to the boil, stirring all the time, then reduce the heat and simmer very gently, stirring continuously, for about 5 minutes or until the mixture has thickened slightly. Pour over the shortbread and leave to cool.
  7. For the topping, melt the chocolate slowly in a bowl over a pan of hot water or the microwave works just as well – just remember to melt it on a low heat and stir on a regular basis throughout as to not burn the chocolate.
  8. Pour over the cold caramel and leave to set.
  9. Finally cut into squares or bars.

These are truly scrumptious and so easy to make. The dark chocolate works really well against the sweetness of the caramel and you could even drizzle a sweeter white chocolate over the top if you feel the dark chocolate is a bit bitter. I’m usually a massive fan of milk chocolate and use it a lot in my baking, but through Luke’s recommendation I thought an experiment with dark would be fun, and I have to say it worked a treat!

wpid-1439281325980.jpg

wpid-1439281569046.jpg

I love making my own shortbread, as you can make the base as thick as you like and I do love a thick base! When you have that much caramel in the middle, I think you need the thickness to even out the sweetness, although not so thick you feel like it sticks to the roof of your mouth! Yuk! My baking tin was about 20cm x 20cm and approximately 5cm in thickness, and with all the layers it almost reached the top!

You need to make sure that you give it plenty of rest time so that it sets properly. There is nothing worse then when you lose patience, cut into it and then the caramel and chocolate oozes all down the sides – too messy for my liking! I would certainly recommend after cutting into pieces that you leave them to set in the fridge for half an hour to firm up. If you do this before you cut them you may find it difficult and if the chocolate is too hard it may crack as you cut into it!

These will last in an airtight container for about 3-5 days and I would definitely recommend making it the day before you want it so that it has enough time to set. This is a sweet and scrummy dessert (or snack) which I feel can be made all year round.

Writing this post is making me hungry, do excuse me while I grab another slice …

Are you a fan of the Millionaire Shortbread?

What do you think of the idea of using dark chocolate instead of milk? Would you use this in your baking?

wpid-All_Fonts__2_of_1_747_Fonts_.jpg

14 thoughts on “Millionaire Shortbread

    • lovethelittlebakery

      No problem. Your post Cashew, Apple and Quinoa Breakfast Cookies really grabbed my attention. I have just got into quinoa and only use it in salads, it’s really interesting to see other uses for it!
      Everyone needs Millionaire Shortbread in their lives hehe … Hx

Leave a Reply

