Honey and Pecan Granola Bars

Even though I have a massive sweet tooth, I’d like to think of myself as healthy. I love going to the gym, which I go to 3 times a week, and I like to eat healthy by making fresh, home cooked meals. So this weekend I thought I would try something a little different in the form of these Honey and Pecan Granola Bars. I’ve never tried to made these before, nor have I ever eaten one myself so the whole experience was a new one for me. But I was actually surprised at how much I enjoyed then and how easy they are to make.

wpid-PhotoEditor-1435951834326.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 113g butter
  • 130g plain flour
  • 260g oats
  • 120g brown sugar
  • 80g honey
  • 1 large egg
  • 70g chopped pecans
  • 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Method:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180C and line a baking tin with greaseproof paper.
  2. In a small bowl, mix together the oats and the chopped pecans.
  3. In a separate bowl, add together the flour, cinnamon, salt and baking powder.
  4. In your stand up mixer bowl (or normal bowl if you are whisking by hand) combine the butter, brown sugar and honey by beating until the mixture is light and fluffy.
  5. Continue to beat everything together as you gradually add the flour mix. It should almost look like a cake mixture.
  6. Finally, use a wooden spoon or spatular to carefully stir in the oats and pecans.
  7. Press firmly into your greased tin and pop in the over for 20-25 minutes until the op looks golden.

Be careful when removing from the tin as it can take a while for it to firm up. Make sure your large slab of granola is cooled completely before removing it from the tin.

wpid-PhotoEditor-1435952017823.jpg

These Granola Bars are truly delicious and I was surprised that they are very similar in texture to a cake. I love the cinnamon flavour that is apparent throughout, but is very complimentary against the sweetness of the honey and also the baked pecans. They are a perfect mid morning snack which actually keeps any hunger at bay until lunch time.

These bars are pretty basic with ingredients compared to others. I’ml not a massive fan of dried fruits, but don’t be afraid to throw anything and everything into these bars – dried pieces of fruit, sultana’s, different types of nuts – there are endless possibilities to these Granola Bars which is what I love. You can continue to make then and not be bored of having to have the same type every time!

wpid-PhotoEditor-1435952017823.jpg

What would be your chosen ingredients? Are you a fan of dried fruits, or plain and simple like myself? What would make the perfect Granola Bar for you?

wpid-All_Fonts__2_of_1_747_Fonts_.jpg

16 thoughts on “Honey and Pecan Granola Bars

Leave a Reply

