The Best of June

June has been and gone and July graces us with a bit of a heat wave! I’m sure it won’t last long though, I hear by the end of the week we’ll be back to rain!

I love writing these “Best Of” posts as it gives me time to reflect on the last months bakes, and usually makes me want to make a few of them again the following month! June was another great month for me and my little blog as I was nominated for another blog award, the Infinity Dreams Award where I really had to think about my dreams for the future (which most of them seem to be baking related!). I am so thankful to the other amazing bloggers who have nominated me for these three awards, which also include the Liebster Award and Real Neat Blog Award. This year has been a triumph for me and my blog, not only for the nominations but also for the leap in followers and increase in visitors. It’s also introduced me to many new blogs this month which is always a really nice thing!

So, the bakes. There has been some great bakes this month, a few of my favourites being my Jammie Dodgers and Salted Caramel Brownies. These were even linked to Our Growing Edge June additional which had a picnic theme. For anyone who hasn’t checked this out, Our Growing Edge is designed to bring bloggers together and inspire us to try something new! Each month has a compilation of snapshots of what food bloggers have been getting up to and the host that month blogs about it. I am so excited to have the opportunity to host in September, so make sure to add your experimental and new recipes to the submission!image-1

The Salted Caramel Brownies went down a storm, both with me and also with fellow bloggers. I love it when people try my recipes, so please let me know how your experiences go if you do have a go at making anything on the blog!

June was also an experimental month for me, trying new things and seeing if they actually work out how you planned. Lucky for me, this was the case and with it came the Mascarpone Blueberry Muffins and Peanut Butter Cookies. Both recipes were a total gamble as to whether they would work, but I was really happy with the results.

As well as all the usual weekend baking, I also had the opportunity to bake for a friend. I love designing cakes, and celebration cakes on a large scale totally excites me and gets the creative juices flowing. This Roller Disco Birthday Cake was great fun to make, such a cool design and brightly coloured with all the fondant imaginable. The kitchen was a mess during the process but the end result made the cleanup totally worth it. And it’s always a nice feeling when your bakes are loved by the people it was baked for! I’m hoping to make a few more celebration cakes over the next few months, including a little something for my boyfriend!wpid-PhotoEditor-1433957695886.jpg

June also gave me the opportunity to practice my bread and pastry making. There were a lot of weekends packed with this type of baking, but unfortunately they haven’t all made it onto the blog yet! So keep an eye out for these up and coming posts which include two tarts, and fresh homemade baguettes.

I am also looking for guest bloggers who can bring a little something different to the usual posts. If you are interested in blogging for LOVE the little bakery, then please don’t hesitate to get in touch – it would be great to hear from you!

Now, let’s bring on July!

wpid-All_Fonts__2_of_1_747_Fonts_.jpg

3 thoughts on “The Best of June

Leave a Reply

