Time to Get Your Skates On!

I just wanted to share with you a few picture of last weekend’s birthday cake.

I had a lot of fun making this cake and coming up with a design and look to suit a roller-disco birthday party for a friends 7 year old daughter. I have never made a children’s birthday cake before, and I have to say, I think it’s now one of my favourite types to make. They are just so much fun, and so colourful and always seem to have a funky theme to stick by. I mean who wouldn’t want a roller disco, I’m thinking may be this could be a party idea for next years’ 25th? Am I too old?

image
image
image

This cake is a two layer chocolate cake with a thick layer of chocolate butter cream to help sandwich the two halves together. The whole cake is edible, with even the wheels being made from left over chocolate sponge. The cake is covered in fondant icing and I had so much fun coming up with colours and design. It took an age to make, but was totally worth it looking at the end result!

image
image

I would love the opportunity to make another, so lets’s watch this space!

8 thoughts on “Time to Get Your Skates On!

Leave a Reply

