Strawberry Muffins

Spring is here and I welcome it with arms wide open, especially now that strawberries have arrived! I have quite a few ideas as to how I want to use these delicious berries during their season, and I thought these muffins would be the perfect place to start!

wpid-PhotoEditor-1430430337248.jpg

Typically my boyfriend and I eat cereal every day of the week which, let’s be honest, can be pretty dull! To change things up every now and then we will have pancakes or English muffins, but what I really love is a good muffin. They are easily portable, delicious to eat, and quick to make! They also freeze really well and can be popped in the microwave directly from the freezer for a little warm treat. Mmm ..

This recipe actually came courtesy of my mum who decided she quite fancied some! This meant that my normal batch increased in size and I found that actually the recipe makes 18 very tasty strawberry muffins. And I have to say, they turned out great! I even took a few into work and they literally went in minutes! They were a nice treat at 11am with a nice warm cup of tea!

So here you have it, a delicious muffin that is jam-packed with Spring’s finest!

 Ingredients:

  • 112g butter
  • 150g caster sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 280g self raising flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 112ml milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • a dozen chopped strawberries

Method:

  1. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and the sugar until light and fluffy. Add the egg to the mixture and mix well until combined.
  2. Sift the flour, baking powder and salt together into a small separate bowl. Then add the flour mix and milk alternatively to the butter mixture. Finally, add the vanilla extract and then gently stir in the chopped strawberries.
  3. Spoon the mixture into the muffin cases and pop in the oven for 20-25 minutes at 200C.
  4. While the muffins are baking, mix together the sugar and the cinnamon as you will need this to sprinkle over the muffins once they have come out of the oven.
  5. The mixture should make about 18 muffins.

wpid-PhotoEditor-1430430733182.jpg

You know you’ve had success when the entire batch of muffins gets eaten before you have a chance to take any photos, so this recipe had to be made a second time in order to be shared here with you! Not that I’m complaining, a nice batch went in the freezer and should keep for a couple of months.

image

image

Now when I read 2 tsp of baking powder in this muffin recipe I was a little curious and quite certain this was going to be too much? I have never added so much baking powder to anything, even when making a cake I tend to only use a level teaspoon. But much to my surprise there  was no bitter flavour at all with the excess baking powder. Rather, the full tablespoon of baking powder gave these muffins a really nice light and fluffy texture, and a good rise as well! Some looking more domed than others though …

image

I was even surprised at how thick the batter is in this recipe. So thick, that you’ll almost feel as if you did something wrong (I know that’s certainly how I felt!) Luckily I have my trusted KitchenAid or else I can imagine it would have taken a hefty amount of elbow grease to mix the dry ingredients in with the wet. (Does this make me a lazy baker?!) When making these muffins, always remember to not over over-mix, as doing so will create a heavy, tough, and crumbly muffin, and no one wants that!

image

These strawberry muffins definitely remind me of spring, and I can’t wait to use these lushus red berries in other summery recipes!

Do you love the summer?

What are some if your favourite summer recipes? Will these strawberry muffins make the list?

7 thoughts on “Strawberry Muffins

    • lovethelittlebakery

      Ah thank you, I wish I could remember where it came from. It’s one of those little adorable individual tea sets with the cup underneath! Let me know how you get on if you make any :) They are super sweet and perfect for a light summer bite!

Leave a Reply

