Spring Time Loving: The Key Lime Pie

I am in love with the weather here in the Cotswolds at the moment. The sun is shining, the skies are blue and it’s actually warm! Granted, I still need my coat and scarf on my 8am walk into work, but by lunch time, it’s glorious sunshine and the coat is no where to be seen. Now, being England and April this probably isn’t going to last, but while Spring is certainly in the air, I thought it was about time I dusted off a few favourite spring time recipes, starting with this little beauty ..

The Key Lime Pie.

wpid-PhotoEditor-1428569206361.jpg

I love a good slice of Key Lime Pie. I love the citrusy-ness, it’s a sure favourite in the summer, sat out in the garden after a BBQ with a glass of Pimm’s. And I love how easy they are to make!

My recipe differs slightly from the original, the biscuity base uses a packet of Ginger Nut biscuits instead of HobNobs. I think the ginger really compliments the lime in the topping, and the flavours together are immense! It also makes the base a little chewier, so texture wise it might not be for everyone. I love it though! This is a dessert best made the day before, so keep that in mind if you fancy a little “zest” this weekend!

Ingredients:

  • 1 packet of Ginger Nut Biscuits, or 300g HobNobs if you prefer the traditional
  • 100g butter, melted
  • 1 x 397g tin condensed milk
  • 3 medium egg yolks
  • finely grated zest and juice of 4 limes
  • 300ml double cream
  • 1 tbsp icing sugar
  • extra lime zest, to decorate

Method:

  1. Heat the oven to 160C.
  2. Whizz the biscuits to crumbs in a food processor – I actually don’t own one of these so putting the biscuits in a strong plastic bag and bashing with a rolling pin works just as well! It can also be very therapeutic!
  3. Mix with the melted butter and press into the base (and up the sides) of a 22cm loose-based tart tin.
  4. Bake in the oven for 10 minutes, remove and cool.
  5. Separate the egg yolks and pop  in a large bowl. Whisk for a minute with electric beaters and add the condensed milk. Whisk for a further 3 minutes, then add the zest and juice of the limes and whisk again for 3 minutes.
  6. Pour the filling into the cooled base then put back in the oven for 15 minutes.
  7. Leave to cool and then pop in the fridge over night. If you do need it for the same day, leave int he fridge for at least 3 hours.
  8. When you are ready to serve, carefully remove the pie from the tin and put on a serving plate.

My other half isn’t a massive fan of cream and likes his pie just plain and simple (simple is delicious – personally I don’t think it needed the added extra!). But if you have an extra sweet tooth and want to whip up a little top decoration, softly whip together the cream and icing sugar. You can then either add a big dollop or pipe the cream onto the top of the pie and finish with extra lime zest.

wpid-PhotoEditor-1428569284710.jpg

And voila!

Spring has sprung, and so has the spring time puds! I can’t wait for the next few months to roll into summer, and I’m excited to share with you my favourite summer bakes. Winter is perfect for those warm and homely bakes that make your tummy warm and give you that feeling of fullness. But I love the lightness of summer puddings, the flavours and the textures.

Bring on the summer!

What are your favourite spring and summer time desserts? Are you a fan of the Key Lime Pie? What are your thoughts on the Ginger Nut Biscuit base?

This post is part of the monthly link up party Our Growing Edge. This event aims to connect food bloggers and inspire us to try new things. This month is hosted by Nikki from Everyday Life Mother and Wife.

our-growing-edge-banner

5 thoughts on “Spring Time Loving: The Key Lime Pie

  1. dandyteaandjam

    Sounds delicious! The crust looks fabulous – we don’t have the Ginger Nut Biscuits in the US to my knowledge, but I’m sure it’s similar to a gingersnap?
    So glad I stumbled across your blog! :)

    • lovethelittlebakery

      Yes I believe they are similar :) it just gives a really nice taste to the base and something a little different to just normal biscuits. So glad you like the blog, let me know if you try and of the recipes x

  2. Bunny Eats Design

    I have a weak spot for key lime pie. It’s not common in New Zealand though and I only tasted my first slice a few years back. I’ll have to try and make it to get my fix. I don’t own a food processor either so I’ll be smashing with a rolling pin too :)

    • lovethelittlebakery

      Oh is it not? It fascinates me that different desserts are popular or not so in different countries :) you’ll have to let me know if you make it! There is something very satisfying about breaking biscuits with a rolling pin! Hehe x

Leave a Reply

