Come Dine with LOVE the little bakery

I’m not sure if any of you have ever watched Come Dine with Me? It’s basically a TV show where 5 complete strangers cook a 3 course meal each night, get scored out of 10 and then the winner takes home £1,000 at the end of the week! It was when I watched an episode shot in my home town that got me thinking “what would I cook”, I mean what would be the winning menu?

As you know, I’m a baker and that’s my passion – cooking on the other hand is a different matter! Don’t get me wrong, I do love to cook and experiment with different recipes and flavours, but I just find the whole process a little boring. I mean, by time you’ve plated up and presented it like you would expect in a Michelin star restaurant (or close enough), its all gone cold! Cakes on the other hand, once they are cooked they are enjoyed cold meaning you can take as long as you like to decorate! – Which is the thing I enjoy most!

Putting my thoughts aside, I thought that perhaps I would simply cook my favourite things, I mean it would be my dinner party after all!

Starting with a mixture of fried sweet peppers, chorizo risotto balls, mozzarella and ciabatta bread, I would present the main as a Red Thai Curry and end with a trio of desserts – mini banoffee pies (because who doesn’t love a biscuity base, bananas, caramel and chocolate?), a slice of citrus lemon tart (to cleanse the pallet) and some sort of raspberry pavlova/eton mess type pud!

Now I say banoffee pie in my menu, as at the weekend I made these adorable small banoffee pots, which are just absolutely perfect in size!

wpid-PhotoEditor-1421880843485.jpg

They are so easy to make, all you need is:

Ingredients (makes 6 small ramekin banoffee pots):

  • 1 tin of Carnation Caramel
  • 2-3 whole bananas – skinned and finely sliced
  • 50g of melted butter
  • 1250g of digestive biscuits, crushed

Additional Ingredients:

  • 300ml wipping cream
  • Grated chocolate – to decorate

Method:

  1. Lightly crush the digestive biscuits and add the melted butter. Stir well until the mixture has combined.
  2. Divide the mixture amoung the ramekin dishes and press the crumbs into the base of each dish.
  3. Leave to chill in the fridge for about 10-15 minutes or until the base has hardened.

There are two ways to do the next part, I choose to do mine this way ..

  1. Slice the bananas and scatter over the crumb base.
  2. Then spread the contents of the Carnation Caramel over the banana layer with a spoon or spatular and decorate with grated chocolate.
  3. Chill in the fridge until it’s ready to serve.

Or …

  1. Use a spatular to smooth the Carnation Caramel over the biscuity base.
  2. Slice the bananas and layer over the top of the caramel.
  3. Spoon over the whipped cream and decorate with grated chocolate.
  4. Chill in the fridge until it’s ready to serve!

And voila, a perfect sweet treat for any dinner party or simply to be enjoyed at the weekend whilst watching the rain hammer against the windows thinking how grateful you are to be in doors, in your pj’s snuggled under a blanket (Oh I love a good duvet day!)

wpid-PhotoEditor-1421880942735.jpg

If you were to hold a dinner party, what would you chosen as your dessert?

One thought on “Come Dine with LOVE the little bakery

Leave a Reply

