Weekend Scones

wpid-PhotoEditor-1417972071610.jpg

I surprise myself at two posts in one day, I just feel I have so much to share with you! I’ve been a busy old bee and with Christmas fast approaching it’s only going to get busier!

The next of my exciting bakes comes in the form of scones, and as I’m sure you will already have guessed, scones have to be one of my many favourite baked goodies! And I’m always pretty spoilt as I usually get them made for me. My boyfriend makes some great scones that seem to go down so well on a Sunday morning with a strong cup of coffee and plenty of jam smothered all over the top. I love how the butter just melts into the warm, light scone halvesย with the sweetness of the strawberry jam!

However, this time it was my turn to have a go at making them to return the favour, and actually I was pleasantly surprised at how easy they were to make! At this rate I will be making them every weekend myself, after all, it’s nice to treat someone else .. And of course myself!

Ingredients:

  • 225g self raising flour
  • 25g caster sugar
  • 55g butter
  • pinch of salt
  • 150ml milk

Method:

  1. Heat the oven to 220C and lightly grease a baking sheet or use baking paper
  2. Mix together the flour and salt and rub in the butter.
  3. Stir in the sugar and then the milk to get a soft dough.
  4. Turn on to a floured work surface and knead very lightly. Pat out to a round 2cm/ยพin thick.
  5. Use a 5cm/2in cutter (or glass) to stamp out rounds and place on a baking sheet.
  6. Brush the tops of the scones with milk or beaten egg.
  7. Bake for 12-15 minutes until well risen and golden.

wpid-PhotoEditor-1417971979709.jpg

wpid-PhotoEditor-1418073492284.jpg

I think next time I may try and add a little cheese to make savoury cheese scones! (scones and cheese .. now that’s two of my favourites!)

Are you a lover of scones?

Leave a Reply

