Cosy up this Autumn with French Toast!

Sat with a cup of tea and a bowl of cereal, not long after the dreaded alarm has gone off, you soon come to realise its Monday morning yet again! Then life goes back into routine for the next 5 days, before you are able to once again eat all things bad for you and try impulse breakfasts! Much like I did last weekend!

I recently went to Amsterdam with my lovely other half for a long weekend which was absoltely beautiful. Amsterdam is such a picturesque city, although 4 days in the heart of Amsterdam with all its hustle and bustle was definitely enough for me! But the one things that surprised me most was their food! (Keep a look out for my next blog post on some of the amazing delights I tasted whilst away!) And one breakfast I fell in love instantly with was French Toast!

IMG_5578

You may be surprised to hear that I have never had a slice before! But since coming back, it’s all I have wanted to eat! French Toast is definitely one of those “Happy Foods” that brings a smile to everyones face! It certainly makes me think back to my holiday and sitting outside in the morning just watching the world (and the many cyclists) go by!

Anyway, back to reality I guess! If you fancy making a bit of French Toast yourself this weekend, why not check out my easy “How To” recipe below. I’m sure you already have most of the basics (eggs, milk, bread) sat in your kitchen cupboards, so grab a pen and paper and make a shopping list for the rest, you won’t be disappointed.

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices of thick sliced bread
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup milk

Optional Ingredients:

  • Icing sugar to dust
  • Bananas
  • Maple syrup

Method:

  1. Beat egg, vanilla and cinnamon in a shallow dish and add the milk.
  2. Stir all the ingredients together until well combined (I like to use a fork to lightly whisk the ingredients together).
  3. Dip bread in egg mixture, turning to cover both sides evenly.
  4. Cook the bread slices on a lightly greased non stick pan on amedium heat until brown on both sides.
  5. Plate up, and if you want, sieve a light layer of icing sugar over the top of your French Toast, and drizzle maple syrup (trust me, it makes all the difference!)

You can also add bananas to your French Toast – try caramelising them in the pan with a little bit of butter for a few minutes until they have softened and browned slightly on each side. When they have been cooked they get this beautiful sweet taste which is a perfect treat for a Sunday morning (especially after a 5k run!)

IMG_5589

How do you make your French Toast?

Leave a Reply

